As you may recall, back in October, Google announced the coming G+ shutdown, giving it a deadline of August 2019, but they then updated that advice on the back of a privacy bug, expediting the closure to April. The final official day of Google+ has now been locked in – April 2nd 2019. The day that Circles will come to an end.
As explained by Google:
“On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted.”
If you have anything you want to keep from Google+, you can download and save your content here. Note that photos and videos backed up to Google Photos will not be deleted.
“The process of deleting content from consumer Google Plus accounts, Google+ pages and Album Archive will take a few months, and content may remain through this time. For example, users still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.”
In other words, the ghosts of Google+ may float around the web for a while after April 2nd, but that is what they will be – ghosts. The platform will be gone, no more. Time to say goodbye.
Google also notes that Google+ community owners and moderators can download and save their data, with additional information available for download from early March 2019, “including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community.”
“If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google Plus Sign In button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks, but in some cases may be replaced by a Google sign in button. You will be able to sign inn with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign In buttons.”
Basically, the closure of Google Plus is now being put into motion, and any and all G+ connected tools are slowly going to stop functioning. This is probably most relevant for your email signatures and contact options on your website – if you are a social media advisor, probably best to remove that G+ link soon, or you could risk looking like you are out of touch with the latest developments.